How do I edit a published invoice?

If you’ve sent an invoice and it’s the latest in the invoice series, you can “Undo publishing” under the “Edit” icon. The invoice will then go back to Drafts. Now you can make the changes you want before marking it as complete again and sending it to the customer.

If you use the invoice method and you recorded the business transaction when you sent the invoice, you must cancel the journal entry for it before you can make any changes. There is no guarantee that you can undo publication, however, but you can try as follows:



If the invoice is not the last to have been created, which means there are subsequent invoices with higher numbers, you cannot undo publication. However, you can go in and make changes to update the invoice. Don’t forget to resend the invoice if you want the customer to take note of the changes.